Twins’ Byron Buxton Wins Wilson Defensive Player Of The Year Award

Brad Rempel, USA TODAY Sports

Three days after winning his first career Gold Glove Award, Minnesota Twins center fielder Byron Buxton was another first-time winner Friday night as he took home the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award.

This particular award is given to the best overall defender in baseball. It was established in 2012 for one player in each league; but since 2014 it’s been given to just one individual.

According to, the Wilson Award “considers various defensive metrics” in determining nine winners (one at each position), one team winner, and one top defender.

Buxton, 23, led all Major League center fielders with 24 defensive runs saved. He was also the best in baseball at making plays that had a 1-10% chance of being made, making 27.8% of said plays, according to per Inside Edge.

The Los Angeles Dodgers took home the honor for Defensive Team of the Year.

Here’s a complete list of Friday night’s Wilson Defensive Players of the Year:

C– Martin Maldonado, Los Angeles Angels
1B– Carlos Santana, Cleveland Indians
2B– DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies
3B– Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies
SS– Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels
LF– Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals
CF– Byron Buxton, Minnesota Twins
RF– Yasiel Puig, Los Angeles Dodgers
P– Tyler Chatwood, Colorado Rockies